Start Planning
British Columbia

British Columbia Public Holidays

Discover upcoming public holiday dates for British Columbia and start planning to make the most of your time off.

British Columbia celebrates ten statutory holidays throughout the province, including Thanksgiving Day, Christmas and Thanksgiving. On these holidays, schools, businesses and offices are closed to allow employees to celebrate with their friends and families. In some cases, if the holiday falls on a weekend, it is celebrated on either the Friday before or the Monday after.

Like the rest of Canada, British Columbia celebrates Victoria Day in honour of Queen Victoria’s birthday. British Columbia Day is celebrated on the first Monday in August in celebration of the naming of the province in 1871. Remembrance Day is a day to remember the sacrifices of those who served in the military and is an official holiday in British Columbia.

Boxing Day, although considered a holiday in many parts of Canada, is not an official holiday in British Columbia. Easter Monday is a holiday for bank and federal employees only in the province.

Previous Years