Start Planning
Newfoundland and Labrador

Newfoundland and Labrador Public Holidays

Discover upcoming public holiday dates for Newfoundland and Labrador and start planning to make the most of your time off.

The province of Newfoundland & Labrador celebrates six statutory holidays which are also celebrated throughout the rest of the country. Although some provinces in Canada celebrate holidays specific to that province, Newfoundland & Labrador do not have provincial holidays. They celebrate the same holidays as are recognised by the Canadian government.

Holiday law in the province are based on holiday pay regulations issued by the Canadian government although the province is given the opportunity to create other holidays or adjust holiday pay as well. When a holiday falls on a Saturday, it may be celebrated on the preceding Friday while holidays falling on a Sunday may be celebrated on the next Monday.

Previous Years